Friday, May 13, 2011

2011 Election Results for the State Assembly Elections in 5 Indian States (Tamilnadu, Kerala, puduchery, Assam and West Bengal)

2011 Election Results were declared for the State Assembly Election for the five states in India.

India is a federal union of states comprising twenty-eight states and seven union territories.

India has Assembly in each State apart from the central parliament.

Past one month, State Assembly Elections were held for the 5 states (Tamilnadu, Kerala, puduchery, Assam and West Bengal) out of these 28 states.

EVM (Electronic voting machines) were used for conducting this election.

Results were declared after Counting of votes using the EVM.

Communists in India lost in this Election. You can see the detailed analysis in WSJ.

Communist party rule in West Bengal is replaced by the All India Trinamool Congress party, led by rising political star Mamata Banerjee. In Tamilnadu also ruling party is defeated.

And, Communists lost election in Kerala also. You can read detailed results here.

Indian Election Commission is able to use EVMs successfully, and let us see whether online voting will be implemented in near future.

You can subscribe to our Email posts, and you can bookmark this blog for further reading, or you can subscribe to our blog feed.

No comments:

Search This Blog